Paul Gascoigne arrested for alleged drunken assault

Paul Gascoigne has been arrested for an alleged drunken assault.

The former footballer, who completed a stint in a US rehab clinic earlier this year, was taken into custody after an incident at a train station in Stevenage, Hertfordshire, but was not charged.

Paul Gascoigne is interviewed on 'Daybreak'

© Rex Features / Ken McKay

Paul Gascoigne is interviewed on ‘Daybreak’

According to The Mirror, Paul allegedly held a security guard by the throat before grabbing the arm of ex-wife Sheryl Gascoigne when she tried to intervene.

A police spokesman said: “There are two allegations of common assault. One was against a man who is a station security guard.

“The allegation there is the 46-year-old man grabbed the security guard around the neck and the other allegation is regarding a member of the public who arrived at the station while this was happening.

“The accusation is that he grabbed their arm.”

Paul was reportedly held in a cell overnight for 12 hours and bailed on Friday.

Paul Gascoigne in 2012.

© David Parry/PA Archive/Press Association Images

Paul Gascoigne

The ex-England player previously confessed that doctors thought he would diefollowing a bad reaction to alcohol withdrawal that saw him rushed to intensive care in February.

“I was out cold for three days,” he recalled. “I thought I was on my way out. I looked like a corpse. I was a total wreck.

“But I’m here, I have another chance – and I’m going to take it. It’s got to inspire me never to let this happen again. I’ve come through that – death.”

Posted on July 6, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

